How Do I Overcome “Writer’s Block”? In giving Kaylee advice, I answered the question for myself!

Kaylee Allgood  · February 3 at 11:51 PM  · 

HELP. How do you overcome writers block and lack of motivation? I had surgery 5 weeks ago and haven’t written a thing! I was so excited thinking I’ll have so much time to write my book, but I feel so unmotivated 😩I’ll be out of work for at another month at the earliest and I want to use my free time to write but I can’t. It’s been months since I’ve written because I’ve been so stressed and so much has been going on in my life, so I think it’s due to the stress but I’m very frustrated because I really want to.

feeling stressed.

Photo by picjumbo.com on Pexels.com


My answer to Kaylee posted in Facebook group Fiction Writing
:

Write about why you can’t write. Write about how all this sh*t is making you feel. Write down your anger, frustration, stress. These are valid emotions that could lead to an amazing story!

  • ActiveSherrie MirandaAlso, if you know what you want to write about, start with an outline. Try hand writing on paper in cursive. Studies show that it activates the creative side of the brain. Write as soon as you wake up in the morning before the world intervenes & while you still have ideas from your dreams. Read what you last wrote & always stop writing before you are empty. That way you know where you’ll begin next time. But most of all, know that when you are not writing, you are actually writing. In your head. In your life. You may need this time to percolate & to live life so you have something new to add to your writing.

Sherrie Miranda’s “Crimes & Impunity in New Orleans” follows the dramatic story of naive, sheltered Shelly going to “The Big Easy” to prepare for El Salvador, but has no idea she will encounter sexism and witness racism as well as illegal activities by government agents.
https://www.amzn.com/dp/B08KMHNNDK
Author, Sherrie Miranda’s husband made the trailer for “Crimes & Impunity in New Orleans.” He wrote the music too. 
https://youtu.be/7_NL-V9KEi4
Review: Shelly’s journey in “the city that care forgot.”Sherrie Miranda’s new novel “Crimes and Impunity in New Orleans” puts the reader into a whirlwind of political protests, abusive police, sexist attitudes towards women, and “good old boys” racism in 1980’s New Orleans. Miranda’s second novel follows Shelly, the young northerner, as she quickly finds out that she “isn’t in Kansas anymore” while encountering a slew of picturesque, colorful characters. Reading her book makes you wonder if justice and respect for blacks, immigrants, and women can be reality in America.

Author: Sherrie Miranda

I am an author who writes in order to create more peace and understanding in the world. I am a teacher who has taught students from many countries of the world. I now teach Heart2Heart Writing workshops. I love to travel and first traveled to other countries before finally deciding to see some of the U.S., places that foreigners I met have been to, but that I hadn't. I am happily married to a retired teacher who is now a full-time musician. We hope to someday travel together to places where I read my novel(s) and speak to people about loving life while Angelo plays his piano and entertains the audience. I am assisting seniors and troubled adults to write their life stories in order to heal. Life has much to offer so I always encourage young people to hang in there and know that things WILL get better.

Leave a comment