Does Loneliness Come From Outside of Us? I, personally, don’t think so.

https://aeon.co/essays/how-loneliness-generates-empathy-and-shapes-identity

My response to the above article on “Loneliness”:

Sherrie Miranda comments:
The loneliest times of my life, I have been around people almost 24/7. Loneliness and being alone are two completely different ideas. Loneliness stems from not having quality interactions with people. For this reason, couples on the verge of divorce may feel extremely lonely, each in his/her own way.

Loneliness is also related to how well you know yourself: what you enjoy doing; what you enjoy reading, etc.

I remember when I went through my first divorce, my sister and her husband brought me a little TV because they perceived me as being lonely. I never watched that TV. Instead, I soon started a program at a local college, made some acquaintances and got a new job. Although I was still lonely because I was not connecting deeply with the people around me, I was, at least, trying to change the circumstances of my life.

Perhaps, what researchers are calling “Loneliness” is something else entirely. Perhaps, these people are searching for a life that has meaning. Sometimes, one person’s valuable opinion and acute listening is all we need. It definitely seems to be true in my case as I spend many hours a week alone, but my husband and I spend quality time together daily. I also have other quality activities that I engage in. Perhaps, we are all just looking for a quality life. Something that is much more satisfying than spending time with a bunch of people that you know little about and care even less about.

***************************

Sherrie Miranda’s historically based, coming of age, Adventure novel “Secrets & Lies in El Salvador” is about an American girl in war-torn El Salvador:
tinyurl.com/klxbt4y
Her husband made a video for her novel. He wrote the song too:

Leave a Reply

