Thank you Frank Montesonti for inviting me to the AWP Conference!

I should have gotten this out last week when I got home from the conference, but such is life! As my mom used to say “Better late than never!”

A big shout out to Professor Frank Montesonti for getting us into the conference & paying us for the reading! Frank is the Dept. Chair Of the National University MFA in Creative Writing program which is a NO Residency on-line program. When I finished the program, I was so sad because I learned so much, I didn’t want it to end. Of course, I was also glad to finish my thesis and turn it in!  😉  ❤

Also a shout out to Colin Dickey who is back from his sabbatical in New York. Colin supported my Kickstarter campaign and recommended me to Frank when he was looking for published students to represent NU at the conference. He was my first thesis advisor & his advice was worth a lb. of gold to me!

Because of NU’s MFA program, I am a published author today!51UX4f00CBL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

It was a pleasure to finally meet my professors in person, as well as several students and some other staff from the program. I can’t wait to read Ann MaCanny’s novel when it comes out in the next month or so!

I also went to an amazing session of Central American writers! It gave me hope to see that some of them are trying to find a way to let the world know that war is hell! And that my government needs to stop funding wars, making them drag out for years!

Thanks to everyone for sharing your time & writing with me!

Peace,

Sherrie

 

Sherrie Miranda’s historically based, coming of age, Adventure novel “Secrets & Lies in El Salvador” is about an American girl in war-torn El Salvador:
http://tinyurl.com/klxbt4y
Her husband made a video for her novel. He wrote the song too:

Leave a Reply

