I, Immigrant

Thanks, Van, for this short but poignant post. You are right: Unless you are 100% Native American (or what they call themselves: “Indian”), then you are a child of an immigrant. That’s what makes us American: having ancestors from other places.
I still hope to follow my maternal grandmother’s roots back to her gypsy beginnings. She was a very special woman who I wish I had known better. 😉 ❤
Peace, love & respect for all, no matter where they hail from,
Sherrie

vanbytheriver

My mother’s family emigrated from Germany in the 1700’s, from Ireland in the 1800’s, landing in Philadelphia, the City of Brotherly Love.

statue-of-liberty 1910 Image. Library of Congress.

My father’s family were among those “huddled masses” of the early 1900’s, escaping eastern Europe for a better life.

They were drawn by the promise of work in the steel mills and farmlands of rural Pennsylvania.

I am the child of immigrants.

We all are.

Important to remember that.

View original post

One comment

  1. Opinionated Man · December 23, 2015

    That was a good post. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

