No Regrets! Independent Publishing Is the Way to Go for Many!

No Regrets! Independent Publishing Is the Way to Go for Many!
Reposted with Categories & Tags

I have no regrets about independently publishing my novel! I’m glad I tried for 3-4 years to get an agent, but by the time I decided to self-publish, I knew it could take years to get an agent, years more for the agent to find a publisher, and even then, it takes another year before the book comes out! 51UX4f00CBL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
OR, it could take until NEVER. You COULD NEVER get an agent (esp. those of us who are UNKNOWN to the world). Your agent COULD NEVER get a publisher (whether she’s trying or NOT). The publisher could decide not to publish the book after all, THOUGH THEY COULD RETAIN the rights. This happens a LOT with movie rights, but is happening more and more with book rights too.
Plus, the publisher does NO publicity for you, BUT if you happen to get noticed, they make the majority of the profits.
Self-publishing is not for the faint of heart. I know, because I am “faint of heart” and it has been a Baptism by Fire. Even still, I would not change a thing.
EXCEPT, I would be more careful what I asked and the things I said to the editor, cover designer, formatter, uploader & publicist I hired. I would get so nervous at times that stuff poured out of me that would have been better left unsaid.
My only recommendation is to BE ABSOLUTELY SURE YOUR BOOK IS READY FOR PUBLICATION. There is nothing worse than putting the book out there too soon. You will lose all credibility if you do!
Peace, love & justice for all,
Sherrie

Sherrie Miranda’s historically based, coming of age, Adventure novel “Secrets & Lies in El Salvador” is about an American girl in war-torn El Salvador:
http://tinyurl.com/klxbt4y
Her husband made a video for her novel. He wrote the song too:

 

Leave a Reply

