Finding My Soulmate/Learning What Love Really Is/Learning to Love Myself

My husband with one of his bands

My husband with one of his bands


I truly believe that “Everything happens for a reason” and although I put myself through a lot of hellish stuff when I was young, it is all that crazy “stuff” that finally got me to this point where I could marry a wonderful man who loves me with all his heart & soul DESPITE my imperfections, or maybe even BECAUSE of my imperfections.
I also believe in the Buddhist saying “The lesson will be repeated until it is learned.” At some point, I could no longer bare the aching sadness of being around broken people and trying to fix them, so I began visualizing myself writing my novel & I sent out a note to the universe for my perfect mate. An intuitive healer, who had helped me get out of a bad relationship years earlier, even told me that my mate was someone I already knew. I thought she was crazy! All the men I knew were broken and therefor, unable to love me since they didn’t love themselves.
But then one day, I was applying for a different position in the district I worked in and I ran into the two (yes, two! ;-)) letters of recommendation the man, who I am now married to, had written for me (so I could leave him!). The 2nd one he got everyone on my team to sign it & those letters got me several teaching jobs throughout Southern California. As I re-read those letters, I got a huge smile on my face, remembering how kind and generous this man was. I remember that I didn’t get involved with him because I didn’t want to break his heart! ❤
To make a long story short, we started meeting up between our two cities and finally one night, I said something about moving back to San Diego and he said something about marrying me in Seattle. I almost fell through the floor. When I finally regained my composure, I asked him "Why Seattle?" He said "The light at night matches your eyes." That was it; I was his forever!
We were married eight months later. So . . . I finally have my soul mate. For a few years, I kept bringing up the idea of adopting a child and he kept saying he wanted me to have "our child." Just recently he told me his deceased mother kept telling him she didn't want to be a grandmother to someone else's child.
It worked out fine. I am very selfish with my time and my heart is easily broken. He is a teacher and a musician so he was short on time too. And now he is going to retire early so he can be a full-time musician. We both have a niece we are crazy about and they both have children so we have young people in our lives. Besides, my baby is my novel.
The one major lesson I had to learn was patience. Waiting 10 years to finally be with the man who I was meant to be with taught me a great deal: patience, perhaps being the most important lesson. You can't rush love. You have to wait to be in the right time & place. You have to love that person enough that their happiness comes before yours. And you have to have learned most of your life lessons & know where you stand in this world.
What we will do as we get older & need help in our day-to-day lives, we don't know, but neither do the people we know who have children. Besides, the parents usually don't like their adult children's solutions anyway.
When the time comes, we'll figure something out.
Peace to all,
Sherrie This pic is from my time in LA

Sherrie Miranda’s historically based, coming of age, Adventure novel “Secrets & Lies in El Salvador” is about an American girl in war-torn El Salvador:
http://tinyurl.com/klxbt4y
Her husband made a video for her novel. He wrote the song too:

An article about Sherrie Miranda and her debut novel:
http://www.thestarnews.com/entertainment/war-torn-el-salvador-is-setting-for-cv-novelist/
An article about the writer’s group Sherrie Miranda started:
http://southbaycompass.com/the-scribes-south-bay-writers-have-their-own-group/

Leave a Reply

