Why You Should Focus on Keeping Your Word

A few years ago when I was trying to finish my novel, I made a sign that says “Do What I Say I Will Do.” I added a bullseye with an arrow right in the middle.
This lateness habit of mine really came home to roost when I found out someone was avoiding me because they didn’t want to show their rudeness at my constant lateness. This was AT WORK! So, finally after years of being the “late one,” I have stopped being late. I get to places early. And the universe is giving me KINDNESS in spades!
Living in SoCal, I am still occasionally late (One time, a brother texted his sister that there was a bomb in her car! I don’t know who was more stupid: the brother or the sister who called the police!)
But 9 times out of ten these days, I get to where I’m going with 15 minutes to spare. It feels great being the early one! 😉 ❤
Sherrie Miranda's historically based, coming of age, Adventure novel “Secrets & Lies in El Salvador” is about an American girl in war-torn El Salvador:
http://tinyurl.com/klxbt4y
Her husband made a video for her novel. He wrote the song too:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P11Ch5chkAc

Dream Big, Dream Often

I frequently get frustrated with people that say they will do something and then fail to keep their commitment.   “I’ll meet you at 6:00” they say, then roll in at 6:15 with a casual “sorry I’m late.”  Or “I’ll call you first thing Monday morning” they say, then respond with “I was just about to call you” after you call them at noon on Monday.  I believe that keeping your word, especially in the small things, is a gigantic key to your personal and professional success.

How often have you committed the crime of not following through on a commitment, regardless of the “importance?”  Let me open your eyes to a fact: your word is a direct reflection of your character, period.  If you say “I will call you back on Monday at 9am” and then fail to do so, it speaks volumes about you as a person.  It…

View original post 606 more words

One comment

  1. thatssojacob · September 5, 2015

    Sounds like a great goal. I have a class at 9:00 tomorrow morning…wish me luck being on time! By the way, you’ve been chosen as one of today’s nine blogs in That’s So Jacob’s Ninth Month Blog Challenge! I challenge you to find nine blogs you find interesting and give them a comment to brighten their day…well, eight other blogs and mine 🙂 Copy this message in your comment and enjoy your new blog friends!

    Like

Leave a Reply

