A Letter Explaining the Reason Behind the Choice of Writing “Secrets & Lies in El Salvador” as Historically-Based, Rather than Historical Fiction

romero-267x300
Mr. Lamperti,
I very much appreciate your message and am glad that you care so much about El Salvador’s recent history.
When I first began writing “Secrets & Lies in El Salvador,” I wanted it to be historical fiction, but I had t w o very knowledgable people tell me not to write it that way. The first person (who recently passed away with cancer) told me that the story would be better told by moving events around in order to build tension. Karen Aschenbach had written screenplays and lived in Hollywood the last few years of her life. I am well aware that Hollywood doesn’t often tell the complete truth, but I am also hoping that this story will be made into a movie.
The other person who recommended I not call it (or make it) historical fiction is an author of historical fiction herself. She said historical fiction doesn’t sell except to a small group of people who care immensely about history. A few months after she gave me this advice, she pulled her books off the shelf to edit and make changes as some readers had found some errors in the work.
That was a wake-up call for me as I knew I wasn’t being meticulous about the history and especially the time-line.
For these reasons, I call the novel historically-based, rather than historical fiction.
I will make sure my publicist is aware of this so that we do not label this story inaccurately.
My sincere thanks for your compassion toward the Salvadoran cause. My Salvadoran friends and family are very grateful to you and all those who remind the world of this unjust US-funded war.
Sherrie Miranda
sherriemiranda1@aol.com

A Mourner Remembers Archbishop Romero

A Mourner Remembers Archbishop Romero

Sherrie Miranda’s historically based, coming of age, Adventure novel “Secrets & Lies in El Salvador” is about an American girl in war-torn El Salvador: http://tinyurl.com/klxbt4y
Her husband made a video for her novel. He wrote the song too:

15 comments

  1. dray0308 · October 11, 2015

    Reblogged this on Dream Big, Dream Often and commented:
    Meet SherrieMiranda1!!

    Like

  2. patgarcia · October 20, 2015

    Hi,
    Historically based fiction, I like that idea. I just bought an e-copy of your book from Amazon Germany. When I read it, I will do a book interview. At the moment, I don’t know when.

    All the best and once again, I really enjoyed the video and the music. I do concerts here in Europe and play keyboards and know good music when I hear it.

    Shalom,
    Pat

    Like

    • Sherrie Miranda · December 20, 2015

      Thank you, Pat! Since you play keyboards, I bet you would appreciate the video my husband made a video for my novel. He wrote the song too:

      Like

  3. Aquileana · December 20, 2015

    Hi there… nominated you for an Award. you can check it out here http://wp.me/p60vo-4EH Feel free to join if you want, no pressures, it ´s absolutely up to you. Merry Christmas and all my best wishes to you. Aquileana 🎄

    Like

  4. Opinionated Man · January 27, 2016

    Do you write on a different blog now? Or just taking a break? 🙂

    Like

    • Sherrie Miranda · March 25, 2016

      Hey Jason, I am just seeing this now! Nope, no changing blogs for me. Too much work! Besides, I’m still trying to figure out how this one works! 😉 ❤
      Peace,
      Sherrie

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hemangini · March 25, 2016

    historical fiction are enjoyable reads but so many times I feel disappointed when the history is twisted terribly and it ends up becoming a dead one for me. Nice review.

    Like

    • Sherrie Miranda · March 25, 2016

      Historical fiction is supposed to be very exact. That’s why I call my novel historically-based. Also, many sites say the history should be at least 50 years before the author is born. Either way, it works out better for me to not have to be so exact. It allowed me to let things happen in the story that likely could have happened but I can’t prove that they did.
      If it sounds interesting, check out the video my husband made.
      Sherrie Miranda’s historically based, coming of age, Adventure novel “Secrets & Lies in El Salvador” is about an American girl in war-torn El Salvador:
      http://tinyurl.com/klxbt4y
      Her husband made a video for her novel. He wrote the song too:

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

