Literature Monday: Patrick de Belen, Thin, Hyphenated Line

Wow, well, I guess today is poetry day! Although I don’t know my roots very well, I have always asked similar questions. My husband IS Filipino (Filipino-American, though he never adds that 2nd part). He is very comfortable in his skin. Maybe because he is a musician. I hope Patrick will find his place through his poetry. Or maybe by going back to the PI. Or maybe BOTH! 😉 ❤
Sherrie Miranda's historically based, coming of age, Adventure novel “Secrets & Lies in El Salvador” is about an American girl in war-torn El Salvador: http://tinyurl.com/klxbt4y
Her husband made a video for her novel. He wrote the song too:

Sunflowers for Sundays

Through my internship at the Kapisanan Centre, I have been blessed with the chance to meet so many wonderful Filipino artists. One of them is Patrick de Belen, who leads the Poetry is Our Second Language workshop at the K. This is the first poem of his that I heard him perform, and it resonated deeply with me. It’s rather long, but trust me when I say that it is powerful, and well worth the read. Thin, Hyphenated Line is a compelling piece on identity, ethnicity, and growing up Filipino in Canada. Here it is in full:

You’ll have to excuse me if I hesitate when you ask me about my ethnic background

View original post 805 more words

Leave a Reply

