Self Publishing – The Errors of My Ways…

I totally get how this could happen. If I hadn’t been trying for a few years to get an agent, my book would have gone out too soon too. The longer I waited for a nibble from agents, the more time I spent writing, revising and editing. The one thing I always knew was that I did need an editor. We should always have an unbiased reader to help us improve 1) storyline 2) grammar 3) in-congruencies.
Sherrie
P.S. Do you know about my debut novel?
Historically based, coming of age, Adventure novel “Secrets & Lies in El Salvador” is about a young American woman goes to war-torn El Salvador:
http://tinyurl.com/klxbt4y
The video my husband made for my novel. He wrote the music too! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P11Ch5chkAc

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

Fiona Tarr 02Like many budding authors I felt on top of the world when I completed my first book. The euphoria was quickly replaced by the stark realisation that no one was willing to publish or promote my work.

It took me over six years to finish my first book, so I was a little impatient to see it published. Unfortunately I rushed through the self publishing process only to discover that my book had some inherent copy editing issues that had not been addressed. I made quite a few mistakes when I first self published, but it is through these mistakes that I learnt so much.

What I should have done

  • I should have had my manuscript professionally edited.
  • I should have taken the time to seek out successful mentors for advice, support and personal development.
  • I should have researched the publishing, marketing and management process more thoroughly.

I don’t regret…

View original post 450 more words

Leave a Reply

